Print

Clermont Clermont

Established in 1862, the town of Clermont was the first inland settlement in the tropics and is one of the most historic towns in Northern Australia. Discover more about the History of Clermont

Clermont Tourism Brochure (PDF, 4.18MB)

Find out about Clermont Preferred Futures

The Clermont Visitor Information Centre can help you with your enquiries on 4983 4755. 
Clermont Community Directory 
The Clermont Rag

Clermont main attractions include:Railway murals in Clermont

Gold Fossicking
Clermont Historical Centre
Copperfield
Hood’s Lagoon and Centenary Park
1916 Flood Memorial
Theresa Creek Dam
Railway Station and Murals
Clermont Cemetery
Rose Harris Park

Gold Fossicking

Declared a gold field in 1862, the Clermont district still has quantities of this precious metal waiting to be unearthed. Fossicking in the area is only permitted in the General Permission Areas and a fossicking licence and kit must be purchased. Contact Clermont Detectors for more information www.clermontdetectors.com.au.

Clermont Historical Centre

Old truck housed at the Clermont Historical CentreClermont is one of the most historic towns in northern Australia and has a colourful past filled with drama and laced with tragedy. In fact, Clermont was the first inland settlement in the tropics, making it a frontier town in the truest sense of the word. Something of that frontier atmosphere can still be found here without having to look too long. Behind it’s small town fa├žade is evidence from the days of gold-rushes, copper mines, timbergetters, shearers, stockmen and squatters.

The Clermont Historical Centre is situated approximately 2km north of  Clermont along the Peak Downs highway. It contains over 8000 artefacts reflecting the rich and sometimes tragic history of Clermont and its surrounding region. Travel back in time when steam was the king of the rails, read about the murder at Mt. Coolon in 1918, find out why Clermont is known as the ‘Town that Moved’ and discover the many interesting articles which make up the Centre’s collection.
The Clermont Historical Centre has recently undergone an extensive revitalisation of the facility, and a strategic business plan is in place to ensure the integrity of the collection is maintained.

More information about Clermont Historical Centre

Copperfield

Queensland’s first copper mine opened at Copperfield in 1862 and continued until the 1880s when the best quality ore was mined out. Copperfield was once a bustling town of 2,000 people, however all that remains today is a lonely brick chimney and the old general store which closed in 1975. Copperfield Cemetery is located on the right hand side of the Rubyvale Road.

Hood’s Lagoon and Centenary Park

Hood's Lagoon in ClermontThe footpath and boardwalk around the Lagoon offer visitors the chance to have an inciteful look into the human history of Clermont. 

There are such things as Sister Mary McKillop grotto, Billy Sing Memorial, Aboriginal Monument and the War Memorial as well as various other memorials depicting the life and history of the town. 

The wildlife on and around the Lagoon and in the adjacent Centenary Park provide a peaceful atmosphere for picnics or barbeques. 

1916 Flood Memorial

The 1916 Flood is Clermont’s most iconic event. Striking suddenly after a rain depression, the flood washed away Clermont’s central business district and claimed at least sixty-five lives. It is still known as Australia’s second worst flood in terms of loss of life. Visit the 1916 flood marker on the corner of Capricorn and Drummond Streets to view the height of the flood waters and read the names of the citizens who perished.
The Piano in the tree in Capricorn Street (opposite Ivan Bettridge Park) is an eerie reminder of the height and ravaging force of the flood waters. Although it’s a replica today, there were originally three pianos found in trees after the 1916 Flood. A mass grave of the flood victims is also located in the Clermont Cemetery.

Theresa Creek Dam

Theresa Creek Dam is located approximately 20km south-west of Clermont and is an idyllic recreation area for camping, fishing and skiing. Camping on the grounds is permitted for a small fee, however all sites are non-powered. Dam facilities include toilets, hot showers, barbeques, picnic tables and swimming areas.

Fishing, Boating and Watersports information

*To fish at Theresa Creek Dam you will need a Stocked Impoundment Permit (SIP). You will not need a SIP if you are only fishing for Red-claw.

Railway Station and Murals

The Clermont Railway Station was constructed in 1884 when the rail line was extended to Clermont. Near the station are four painted railway wagons depicting the industries within Clermont which use the rail system. The artist Glen Gillard has hidden a green tree frog on each wagon for visitors to find at their leisure.

The Commercial Hotel opposite the railway wagons is the last remaining example of the old style hotels. Pop in for a cold one, luscious coffee or a great meal.

Clermont Cemetery

Many original residents of Clermont are buried at the cemetery situated on the banks of Sandy Creek. Some head stones date back to the 1860s. It is also the location of the common grave of thirty-five of the sixty-five residents who lost their lives in the 1916 flood.

Rose Harris Park

Named after local identity and saddler, Rose Harris, in recognition of her services to the community during the 1916 Flood. Rose and her father were responsible for saving five lives.. Fronting Capella and Daintree Streets, the park is a great place for a picnic..